Yes, I was there! With five close friends and hundreds of thousands of new buddies.

I don’t know how many people were in D.C., and in Atlanta, Cincinnati, Seattle, New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, London, and Paris. But it was a LOT.

I want to share why I went. wmwmarch-6

It is imperative that those of us who don’t agree with President Trump and the Republican Congress make ourselves heard. I don’t believe a march is going to make that difference. But I do believe that a march energizes people and encourages us to act. We need to act every day.

Michael Moore talked about this – any one of us can wake up and call 202-225-3121 to reach our representatives in Congress. And all of us should do that on a regular basis. Or visit congress.gov to reach your representatives via email.

The march today showed how many people care about a number of “women’s issues.” Notably, each speaker had a different definition of what women’s issues are. And the march had a broad mission statement. The issues I am most afraid for:

  • Healthcare – the ACA/Obamacare
  • Environment
  • Education
  • Arts
  • Discrimination

I could go on, but I’ll just stick my top few there. I encourage anyone who is disappointed in the current administration to take up your pen (or your laptop) and get busy. We can’t go back and replay election day, but we will have interim elections coming, and there are plenty of opportunities to let your representatives know how you feel. Remember they are meant to represent you, hold them to it!

#whyImarch #WomensMarch

