The big general election will take place while I am out of the country.

whitehouse1

Rest assured, I already cast my vote by absentee ballot. I was amazed at how easy it was. In Virginia, we can register to vote online or at the DMV, and we can request an absentee ballot online, too. My ballot was mailed to my house and I mailed it right back. Done! No lines.

I’m always amazed when talking to people from other parts of the country to find that the election is not consuming them as it does my hometown of Washington, DC. We are inundated. Of course, I work in the media. I have friends who work on Capitol Hill, I have a friend who creates campaign ads. I know some ‘pundits.’ And my parents regularly write letters to the editor of their small town paper and national publications.

Once I decided to come to college in DC, I suppose I sealed my fate. I will always be sucked into politics, though it’s never been part of my job. It is more of a neighborhood pastime. During presidential elections, it is a town obsession. It’s gone on way too long and gone way too far for my taste this year.

I hope to come back to news about something other than the election, and if it doesn’t go my way, I guess I can always just stay on vacation indefinitely.

